This event has ended. View the official site or create your own event → Check it out
This event has ended. Create your own

View analytic
Sunday, April 6 • 12:00pm - 1:15pm
Student Video Awards and Exhibition

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

This session honors the winners of the Student Festival of Media Arts Video Competitions. Selected works of this year’s award recipients will be exhibited.
Festival of Media Arts Student Video Competition co-Chairs: Stephen Price, Georgia College & State University and Amy Crawford, Youngstown State University

2013-2014 Winners
Student Video Competition
Best of Festival (Non-Fiction): Jenna Lyter & Javeon Butler, Northern Arizona University; The Campaign for NAU (Promotional Video)

Best of Festival (Narrative): Robert Krakower & Jon Magram, San Jose State University; Always Learning (Narrative Video)

1st Place: Samuel Neff, George Fox University; Hourglass
2nd Place: Landon Stahmer, University of Nebraska–Lincoln; Phyllis
3rd Place: Kidron Cannon, Harding University; What Drives You?
Honorable Mention: Victor Pierce & Dalton Robbins, Missouri State University; Go Fish, Go Forever

1st Place: Viewfinder, University of Maryland; Viewfinder: Overcoming Obstacles
2nd Place: Zach Briggs, Dan Doran, David Lillienstein & Dan Masciari, Ithaca College; Bird-feeding-Adaptations
3rd Place (tie): Edda Zabala, California State University Northridge; CSUN's Brown Center
3rd Place (tie): Shaune Killough, Daniel Frohm & Joseph Salvatore, SUNY Oswego; C.N.Y. I.C.C.

Music Video
1st Place: Bradley Michael Wong, University of Arizona; Ready For The World
2nd Place: Derek Scully, Mei Bess & Sean Magee, Elon University; A Little Bit Different
3rd Place: Konstantinos Davaros, Jenna Ely & Brendan O'Keefe, SUNY New Paltz; Stompin'

Narrative Video
1st Place: Zack Evans, Kaleb Tuttle, Zach Cieszynski & Brian Hartley, Azusa Pacific University; Where Are They Now
2nd Place: Joe Battaglia, Lindsay Hatcher, Mike Rhoa & Greg Mezey, Ohio University; Monhegan Light
3rd Place (tie): Adam Wagner, Travis Niedergerke & April Clore, Missouri State University; My Daughter's Dragon
3rd Place (tie): Lucas Eubank & Jacob Holliman, Missouri State University; Common Cents
Award of Excellence in Sound Design: Nick Shaw, Matt Maupin, Austin Huelsbeck, Jason Wilson & Pax Magaway, George Fox University; Timothy Truelove's Date With Destiny
Award of Excellence in Comedic Editing: Conner McCabe, Becky Train & Quinten Reiff, Azusa Pacific University; The 25th Hour
Award of Excellence in Directing Actors: Kyle Hobkirk, Ryan Lagerstrom & Yunji Johanning, Azusa Pacific University; Rhotocromium
Award of Excellence in Visual Storytelling: Logan Bean, Daniel Ard & Aaron Allsop, Brigham Young University - Idaho; Yarrow's Boy
Honorable Mention: Graeme Wilson, Christen Whitney, Tremaine Taylor-Tillery & Tyler Engle, Ball State University; Last Word, The
Honorable Mention: Julia Dills, Meghan Wheeler & Berenice Macias, California State University, Northridge; The Sharecropper's Wife
Honorable Mention: Melanie Rodriguez, Jeff Clarke, Matthew Martin-Hall & Carissa Miranda, University of La Verne; Day One

Spots (15-90 seconds)
1st Place: Stacey Lee, Bryan Gordon, Amy Ribar & Jeff Schroeder, San Francisco State University; Sustainability
2nd Place: Joshua Shockley, University of Oklahoma; Tornado PSA
3rd Place (tie): Katie Bowns, Cameron Bullock & Daniel Ard, Brigham Young University - Idaho; Food Science Promo
3rd Place (tie): Xinyi Huang, Purdue University; ReStore Lafayette Commercial
Honorable Mention: Lucius Patenaude, Abilene Christian University; Frontier Texas
Honorable Mention: Ashley Seering, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville; Freedom to Dream

Promotional (90 seconds and longer)
1st Place: Leah Castile & Nicole Shackelford, Central Michigan University; Mountain Town Brewing Company
2nd Place: Grant Pichla & Dana Kuntzler, Central Michigan University; High and Tight Promotional Video
3rd Place: Janelle Barrick, Zachary Strauss, & Joshua Shockley, University of Oklahoma; This is Our Classroom
Award of Excellence in Production Quality: James Earl, Nathan Krauss, & Gautam Singhani, Ithaca College; ithaca-in-action
Award of Excellence in Cinematography: Antonio Ayala, Rynne Griggs, & Julian Faras, San Francisco State University; Why we Design
Award of Excellence in Editing: Kimberly Pestalozzi, Arizona State University; Experience Cronkite
Award of Excellence in Visual Storytelling: Gavin Dunham, Northern Arizona University; Local Works

Studio (multi-camera live-to-tape)
1st Place: Erik Macias & Karl Macias, University of Oklahoma; The Set
2nd Place: Viri Diaz & One Sessions Crew, West Texas A&M University; One Sessions - Zac Wilkerson
3rd Place: Kathryn Coduto, Allie Johnson & David Hrvatin, Kent State University; TV2 Election 2013


Sunday April 6, 2014 12:00pm - 1:15pm
Pavilion 9

Attendees (27)