This event has ended. View the official site or create your own event → Check it out
This event has ended. Create your own

View analytic
Monday, April 7 • 11:30am - 12:45pm
Faculty and Student Documentary Awards and Exhibition

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

This session honors the winners of the Faculty and Student Festival of Media Arts Documentary Competitions. Selected works of this year’s award recipients will be exhibited.
Student Documentary Festival Competition Chair: Jes Therkelsen, California State University-Fresno
Faculty Documentary Competition Chair: Julie Williamsen, Brigham Young University

2013-2014 Winners
Faculty Documentary Competition
Best of Festival: H.D. Motyl, Southern Illinois University; Cowboy Christmas (Long form)

Short Form
Best of Competition: Kari Barber, University of Nevada, Reno; Baking Alaska
Award of Excellence: Larry Foley & Hayot Tuychiev, University of Arkansas; After the Tsunami
Award of Excellence: Kathy Lee Heuston & Joseph Mendes, Austin Peay State University; An American Journalist -Dorothy Dix

Long Form
Award of Excellence: Kathleen M. Ryan, University of Colorado Boulder; Homefront Heroines: The WAVES of World War II
Award of Excellence: William Gentile, Esther Gentile & Betsy Dufault, American University; Through Their Eyes

Student Documentary Competition
Best of Festival: Jaclyn Edmonson, Middle Tennessee State University; Sbocciare (Short Form Video)

Short Form Video
1st Place: Brian Favorite, San Francisco State University; Heklina
2nd Place: Kaleigh Griffin, Claudia Gallo, Lindsay Nimphius & Keri Sheheen, SUNY New Paltz; First Name: Jogger, Last Name: John
3rd Place: Will Anderson, Hannah Cohan & David Gwynn, Elon University; Solo on Snare
Excellence in Cinematography: Scott O'Lone & Kieren Astall, Ohio University; Found
Excellence in Research: Alex Lancial, Tara Molina & Perla Farias, Arizona State University; Two Borders
Excellence in Sound Design: Jon Kasbe, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill; Heartbeats of Fiji
Honorary Mention: Lauren Stroz, John Breitling & Eric Cheavers, Rowan University; Slutwalk: A Mile in Her Heels
Honorary Mention: Mari Elizabeth Cleven, Northern Arizona University; Waste Water

Long Form Video
1st Place: Clint Fullen, The University of Arkansas; The Jim Lindsey Story
2nd Place: Sam Geneser, Bret Hoy, Kaitlyn Manlove & David Mudd, Missouri State University; Dither: The DIY Story
3rd Place: Shelby Hadden, University of Alabama; Not A Statistic
Excellence in Cinematography: Joseph Ligo, Westminster College; The Unfortunate History of the AMC Pacer
Excellence in Editing: Bryan Campbell & Bobbie Foster, University of Arkansas; Stuff About Stuff
Excellence in Research: Terrence Woods, Su Hong, Doris Molenaar & Anahita Namaki, University of Maryland; Between Bars
Honorary Mention: Gabrielle Bizzarro & Bailey Frasier, Arizona State University; Blisters of a Butterfly
Honorary Mention: Dee Thao, California State University Chico; Searching for Answers


Monday April 7, 2014 11:30am - 12:45pm
Pavilion 9

Attendees (18)