This event has ended. View the official site or create your own event → Check it out
This event has ended. Create your own

View analytic
Monday, April 7 • 10:00am - 11:15am
Faculty and Student News Awards and Exhibition

Sign up or log in to save this to your schedule and see who's attending!

This session honors the winners of the Faculty and Student Festival of Media Arts News Competitions. Selected works of this year’s award recipients will be exhibited.

2013-2014 Winners
Faculty News Competition
Best of Festival: Hagit Limor, University of Cincinnati,; Ford Spark Plug Investigation (Television Hard News Reporting)

Radio Feature News Reporting
Best of Competition: Barney McCoy, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Turkey's Free Press Battle

TV Feature News Reporting
Best of Competition: Bethany Swain, University of Maryland; Inside WTOP Traffic Center

Student News Competition
Best of Festival Television: Matt Rascon, Brigham Young University; The Road (Television Feature News Reporting)

Best of Festival Radio: Cooper Rummell, Arizona State University; Maricopa County Jail Flags (Radio Hard News Reporting)

Best of Festival Newscast: Spring 2013 Staff, The Pennsylvania State University; Centre County Report (Television Newscast)

Radio Feature Reporting
1st Place: Jessica Murri, University of Montana; Taxidermy Bootcamp
2nd Place: Dan Lane, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; Bird-cams Aim to Explain Peacocking
3rd Place: Brianna Sacks, University of Southern California; Leimert Park's World Stage Fights Extinction
Honorable Mention: Caiti Currey, Arizona State University; YouTube Guru

Radio Hard News Reporting
1st Place: Mark Haywood, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; North Carolina leading state Human Trafficking
2nd Place: Brandon Kinnard, University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh; UW-Oshkosh Coach in Boston Marathon
3rd Place: Caiti Currey, Arizona State University; Playworks
Honorable Mention: Patrick T. Malowski, State University of New York, College at Oswego; Harlem Shake Translation Controversial

Radio Newscast
1st Place: James Kaminsky & Andrew Tie, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; Carolina Connection
2nd Place: Jackson Baird, Rowan University; A Community Affair
3rd Place: Katherine Davis, Jerome Campbell, Denise Guerra & Graham Clark, University of Southern California; Annenberg Radio News
Honorable Mention: Maddie West, University of Southern Indiana; The Edge Radio News Update

Television Feature Reporting
1st Place: Meghan Reistad & Emilio Ramos De Jesus, St. Cloud State University; Giving By the Gallon
2nd Place: Meredith Dean, The University of Georgia; America's Stonehenge
3rd Place: Dustin Askim & Max Barnum, University of Montana; PEAS Farm
Honorable Mention: Jenna Jaynes, University of Nebraska-Lincoln; Nebraska's First Male Color Guard Lives his Dream
Honorable Mention: Nick Minock & Vicki Ikeogu, St. Cloud State Univeristy; Rocori High School

Television Hard News Reporting
1st Place: Kristina Zverjako, Arizona State University; Immigration Partner
2nd Place: Ali Monsen, Brigham Young University; Paraglider's Predicament
3rd Place: Julian Glover, University of Miami; Tracking Florida's Promise
Honorable Mention: Vivian Padilla, Arizona State University; Online Sex Demand
Honorable Mention: Tommy Townsend, University of Alabama; Drownings on the River

Television News Anchor
1st Place: Johanna Rojas, The Pennsylvania State University; Johanna Rojas Anchor Reel
2nd Place: Caiti Currey, Arizona State University; Caiti Currey
3rd Place: Natalie Davis, St. Cloud State University; Natalie Davis
Honorable Mention: Gabriela Rodiles, Arizona State University; Gabriela Rodiles News Anchor

Television Newscast (airing 3 days per week or less)
1st Place: Emilio Ramos De Jesus, Emily Haeg & Alyssa Tryggeseth, St. Cloud State University; UTVS News en Espanol
2nd Place: Brenna Cukier, Madison Morgan, Kiara Palmer & Landon Dowdy, University of North Carolina - Chapel Hill; Carolina Week
3rd Place: Zoya Popova, Palomar College; North County News Show 5/7/13
Honorable Mention: Emily Dick, West Virginia University; WVU News Special Edition-College Campus
Honorable Mention: Ezra Van Den Einde, Minnesota State University Moorhead; Campus News

Television Newscast (airing 4/5 days per week)
1st Place: Leah Carr & Josh Nguyen, St. Cloud State University; UTVS News
2nd Place: Aaron Greene, Blane Skiles, Brianna Whaley & Katelyn Murray, University of North Texas; ntTV Nightly News
3rd Place: WUFT NEWS Student Staff, University of Florida; WUFT News First
Honorable Mention: Ed Horan, Sean Siciliano & the News 7 production team, Lyndon State College; News 7 at 5:30
Honorable Mention: Lauren King, Madeline Stebbins & Kenzie Clark, University of Oklahoma; OU Nightly

Television Weathercaster
1st Place: Shelby Latino, Mississippi State University; December 12, 2013 – WCBI
2nd Place: Hayden Nix, Mississippi State University; Campus Connect November 18th, 2013
3rd Place: Katie Western, University of Oklahoma; Katie Western – Weathercaster
Honorable Mention: Marissa Scott, Arizona State University; Cronkite News Weathercaster Marissa Scott

Festival of Media Arts Vice Chair and Student Feature News Competition Chair: Sara Magee, Loyola University of Maryland
Festival of Media Arts Faculty News Competition Chair: Trina T. Creighton, University of Nebraska @ Lincoln
Festival of Media Arts Student Radio News Competition Chair: Michael Riecke, SUNY - Oswego
Festival of Media Arts Student Hard News Competition Chair: Brent M. Foster, California State University, Fullerton
Festival of Media Arts Student News Talent Competition Chair: Herbert Dunmore, Loyola University Maryland
Festival of Media Arts Student Newscast (3 Days or Less) Competition Chair: Mary T. Rogus, Ohio University
Festival of Media Arts Student Newscast (4/5 Days) Competition Chair: Bob Gould, Michigan State University

Monday April 7, 2014 10:00am - 11:15am
Pavilion 9

Attendees (24)